Hermosa Beach AVP Open 2010

journeyPod was on the sand with reigning Olympic beach volleyball gold medalists Phil Dalhausser and Todd Rogers as they won the AVP NIVEA Tour Hermosa Beach Open Presented by Bud Light Lime on Sunday, July 18th, becoming the first team – men’s or women’s – to win the event in five consecutive years.

We also got up close up with EY (Elaine Youngs) and Rachel Scott. And with Jennifer Kessy and April Ross who won the women’s title, securing their fourth straight victory this season on the AVP Tour.

Dalhausser and Rogers, the top-seeded men’s team, beat 13th-seeded John Mayer and Matt Prosser, 21-14, 21-11, in Sunday’s final. They lost just one game in five matches throughout the weekend.

Their victory was their 54th open win together, moving them into third place all time, ahead of current AVP Commissioner Mike Dodd and Tim Hovland.

Photo by James Kao.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: